Opinion pieces

AUSTRALIA NEEDS A COMPREHENSIVE PLAN FOR COVID-19 IN THE PACIFIC

April 20, 2020

This opinion piece was first published on THE INTERPRETER on MONDAY, 20 APRIL 2020. If Australia genuinely wants to be the partner of choice for Pacific island nations – with all the benefits that will bring for our national interest – then how we contribute to their Covid-19 challenge in coming months will shape our future in this important region.

Read More

SCOTT MORRISON CALLS THE PACIFIC ‘OUR FAMILY’. COVID-19 IS AUSTRALIA’S CHANCE TO PROVE THAT

March 31, 2020

This opinion piece was first published on THE GUARDIAN AUSTRALIA on Tuesday, 31 March 2020. A real friend is one that can be relied upon in a crisis. This is the time we can demonstrate our friendship to the Pacific island nations.

Read More

SIMPLISTIC SLOGANS ON COAL ARE NOT HELPING

March 18, 2020

This opinion piece was first published in the Newcastle Herald on Wednesday, 18 March 2020. The best way Australia can help reduce global emissions is by establishing scientifically creditable and ambitious emissions reduction targets, then implementing policies to actually cut our pollution and play a positive role in international negotiations.

Read More

CLIMATE POLICY IMPASSE HAS COST US DEARLY

December 03, 2019

This opinion piece first appeared in the NEWCASTLE HERALD on Tuesday, 3 December 2019. This week marks 10 years since the Greens voted with the Coalition in the senate to defeat legislation for a comprehensive economy-wide climate change policy, the Carbon Pollution Reduction Scheme (CPRS).

Read More

OUR NATION MUST LIFT ITS GAME ON FOREIGN AID

November 06, 2019

This opinion piece was first published in NEWCASTLE HERALD on Wednesday, 6 November 2019. As one of the world's richest countries, Australia needs to play its part in lifting people out of destitution and despair.

Read More

MY 'GO' IS TO PUSH SCOMO - LETTER TO EDITOR

September 26, 2019

LETTER TO THE EDITOR NEWCASTLE HERALD SEPTEMBER 26, 2019

Read More

GET UPDATES