Opinion pieces

OUR REGION IS NO GREENHORN AT MAKING STEEL

May 16, 2020

This opinion piece was first published in NEWCASTLE HERALD on SATURDAY, 16 MAY 2020. Newcastle was once Australia's steel city. With good policy to take advantage of our skilled workforce and other endowments, Newcastle can again be the steel city.

Read More

MAKING ISOLATION EASIER FOR OLDER AUSTRALIANS

April 21, 2020

This opinion piece was first published in THE NEWCASTLE HERALD on TUESDAY, 21 APRIL 2020. It's important that we don't forget about elderly Australians during this time and we do what we can to help them.

Read More

AUSTRALIA NEEDS A COMPREHENSIVE PLAN FOR COVID-19 IN THE PACIFIC

April 20, 2020

This opinion piece was first published on THE INTERPRETER on MONDAY, 20 APRIL 2020. If Australia genuinely wants to be the partner of choice for Pacific island nations – with all the benefits that will bring for our national interest – then how we contribute to their Covid-19 challenge in coming months will shape our future in this important region.

Read More

SCOTT MORRISON CALLS THE PACIFIC ‘OUR FAMILY’. COVID-19 IS AUSTRALIA’S CHANCE TO PROVE THAT

March 31, 2020

This opinion piece was first published on THE GUARDIAN AUSTRALIA on Tuesday, 31 March 2020. A real friend is one that can be relied upon in a crisis. This is the time we can demonstrate our friendship to the Pacific island nations.

Read More

SIMPLISTIC SLOGANS ON COAL ARE NOT HELPING

March 18, 2020

This opinion piece was first published in the Newcastle Herald on Wednesday, 18 March 2020. The best way Australia can help reduce global emissions is by establishing scientifically creditable and ambitious emissions reduction targets, then implementing policies to actually cut our pollution and play a positive role in international negotiations.

Read More

CLIMATE POLICY IMPASSE HAS COST US DEARLY

December 03, 2019

This opinion piece first appeared in the NEWCASTLE HERALD on Tuesday, 3 December 2019. This week marks 10 years since the Greens voted with the Coalition in the senate to defeat legislation for a comprehensive economy-wide climate change policy, the Carbon Pollution Reduction Scheme (CPRS).

Read More

GET UPDATES