Opinion pieces

A FAIR ECONOMIC RECOVERY FOR ALL NEEDED IN 2021

January 11, 2021

As we enter 2021, one of my main priorities will be fighting to ensure no one is left behind in our nation’s recovery from this pandemic. That includes continuing my calls for the government to extend crucial financial support until the economy has recovered and business confidence has returned.

Read More

STATE OF AGED CARE FAR FROM REASSURING

November 04, 2020

This opinion piece was first published in the NEWCASTLE HERALD on Wednesday, 4 November 2020. Our aged-care system has experienced years of neglect and, as a result, vulnerable and frail older Australians have been left behind.

Read More

NOTHING RENEWABLE IN 20TH POWER POLICY

September 23, 2020

This opinion piece was first published in the NEWCASTLE HERALD on Wednesday, 23 September 2020. Scott Morrison was in the Hunter recently to announce his 20th energy policy. Unfortunately like his previous energy thought bubbles, this latest one is light on substance.

Read More

PANDEMIC’S IMPACT: THE KIDS AREN’T ALRIGHT

July 30, 2020

This opinion piece was first published in the NEWCASTLE HERALD on Thursday, 30 July 2020 Young Australians need our support and assistance more than ever during this challenging period. It’s one of the main reasons I have been urging the Morrison Government to develop a comprehensive jobs strategy.

Read More

OUR REGION IS NO GREENHORN AT MAKING STEEL

May 16, 2020

This opinion piece was first published in NEWCASTLE HERALD on SATURDAY, 16 MAY 2020. Newcastle was once Australia's steel city. With good policy to take advantage of our skilled workforce and other endowments, Newcastle can again be the steel city.

Read More

MAKING ISOLATION EASIER FOR OLDER AUSTRALIANS

April 21, 2020

This opinion piece was first published in THE NEWCASTLE HERALD on TUESDAY, 21 APRIL 2020. It's important that we don't forget about elderly Australians during this time and we do what we can to help them.

Read More

GET UPDATES