Opinion pieces

PANDEMIC’S IMPACT: THE KIDS AREN’T ALRIGHT

July 30, 2020

This opinion piece was first published in the NEWCASTLE HERALD on Thursday, 30 July 2020 Young Australians need our support and assistance more than ever during this challenging period. It’s one of the main reasons I have been urging the Morrison Government to develop a comprehensive jobs strategy.

Read More

OUR REGION IS NO GREENHORN AT MAKING STEEL

May 16, 2020

This opinion piece was first published in NEWCASTLE HERALD on SATURDAY, 16 MAY 2020. Newcastle was once Australia's steel city. With good policy to take advantage of our skilled workforce and other endowments, Newcastle can again be the steel city.

Read More

MAKING ISOLATION EASIER FOR OLDER AUSTRALIANS

April 21, 2020

This opinion piece was first published in THE NEWCASTLE HERALD on TUESDAY, 21 APRIL 2020. It's important that we don't forget about elderly Australians during this time and we do what we can to help them.

Read More

AUSTRALIA NEEDS A COMPREHENSIVE PLAN FOR COVID-19 IN THE PACIFIC

April 20, 2020

This opinion piece was first published on THE INTERPRETER on MONDAY, 20 APRIL 2020. If Australia genuinely wants to be the partner of choice for Pacific island nations – with all the benefits that will bring for our national interest – then how we contribute to their Covid-19 challenge in coming months will shape our future in this important region.

Read More

SCOTT MORRISON CALLS THE PACIFIC ‘OUR FAMILY’. COVID-19 IS AUSTRALIA’S CHANCE TO PROVE THAT

March 31, 2020

This opinion piece was first published on THE GUARDIAN AUSTRALIA on Tuesday, 31 March 2020. A real friend is one that can be relied upon in a crisis. This is the time we can demonstrate our friendship to the Pacific island nations.

Read More

SIMPLISTIC SLOGANS ON COAL ARE NOT HELPING

March 18, 2020

This opinion piece was first published in the Newcastle Herald on Wednesday, 18 March 2020. The best way Australia can help reduce global emissions is by establishing scientifically creditable and ambitious emissions reduction targets, then implementing policies to actually cut our pollution and play a positive role in international negotiations.

Read More

GET UPDATES